Pregnant!

I guess the title says it all 🙂 Today is 7 days post (5 day) transfer, and my home pregnancy test this morning finally showed two lines on it. The only other time I saw this was April 2010, or almost a year and a half ago (my chemical pregnancy last year never registered on a home pregnancy test).

I have about five posts in my head that need to be written, but for now I’ll just stick to the basics.

My original plan for this transfer was to wait until at least Wednesday (9 days post transfer) to test. By that point, the result would be almost 100% accurate, and if negative I would have a shorter wait to the pregnancy bloodtest scheduled for Saturday.

But on Friday (4 days post transfer), I moved up my timeline. I had looked up what happens to embryos after transfer, and based on the schedule I saw, 4 days post 5 day transfer, the embryo(es) start to implant. As if on cue, I had some strange cramps that morning. They lasted between half hour and an hour and felt like a ticklish sensation. I kept thinking I was imagining them, but every time I touched my stomach, it would feel tender so I knew they were real. I don’t remember ever feeling that before, and I definitely didn’t have anything like that after my FET in July. I’d also been on the infertility forums long enough to read of the lead up to many other people’s pregnancies, so I knew that this was a good sign.

All of a sudden I went from thinking “This might work” to “Holy cow, I think it might have worked!”. It still seemed so far fetched to me, but at the same time I was quickly coming around to the idea. At that point I made the decision to test sooner, figuring if it’s positive I may as well start enjoying the pregnancy sooner, and if it’s negative it can temper my expectations.

I was going to write about this over the weekend, but in the end decided to hold off until I tested today to see how the test turned out.

Last night before bed I had another good sign. I’d read many times about implantation bleeding, and after those funny cramps on Friday was checking when I wiped for any sign of it. It only happens in 30% of pregnancies (and I never had it before), but at the same time it’s one of those really good definite signs that you’re pregnant.

I’d given up on having any this time around, but then when I went to the bathroom right before bed, there it was! Light pink on my toilet paper after I wiped. I wiped again, and there was more. I couldn’t believe my eyes! It was just before I was to put in my prometrium suppositories, so I was sure that it wasn’t irritation from the suppositories as I’d put the last ones in 8 hours ago, and had gone to the bathroom many times since then without any spotting.

I put on a panty liner and went to bed, and was rewarded with some more spotting when I got up this morning. And then it was the moment of truth. It took a while for the result to come up in the result window, but as it was coming up I was pretty sure I could see a faint second line developing (normally this is not the case). When the test finally developed, there were two beautiful lines. The second line was fainter, but there was no denying that it was there.

I. Am. Pregnant.

One thought on “Pregnant!

Leave a Reply

