The Blood Test Drama

Well I never did write the post that was to be my rant against the Ontario health care system on Friday, or yesterday. Instead, I ran out of time, and out of steam. I’ll try to do a quick summary of the ordeal that getting my pregnancy test results was, and then I’ll move on.

In case, there’s any doubt, my negative pregnancy result was confirmed via bloodwork. I got the confirmation on Friday, but it was quite the production.

When I had my transfer, my clinic had warned me that the lab in Ontario may not accept the requisition they wrote for the pregnancy test, in which case I would have to go to a walk-in clinic to get a requisition from a Dr. here. Sure enought, that ended up being the case, so after going to the lab, I went to the closest walk-in clinic, got the requisition and figured it would be smooth sailing from there. Wrong!

I had written on the requisition that test results should be copied to my RE (in my old province). However, the woman in the lab told me that they couldn’t send results to my Dr., as they were only authorized to send results to Dr.s in Ontario. It would be up to the Dr. here to forward my results on, but she warned me that it was totally up to his discretion, and that he may not do it! I was absolutely shocked at this. I understand that the lab has rules they have to play by, but for a Dr. to withhold test results from the medical professional who had ordered them in the first place (simply because they practiced in another province) seemed unfathomable to me.

But, it got worse. I was then told that results would not be available for 24 hours, and therefore I would have to wait another day for confirmation. I was once again shocked, as I was used to same day results, and had never considered I may not get them here. I was in Canada’s largest city, getting routine bloodwork done minutes away from the largest concentration of hospitals and medical facilities in Canada (and I’m sure sure one of the largest in North America), and I had to wait 24 hours for my results?? Meanwhile, I just wanted to get closure on this cycle so I could start to move on and plan next steps.

I was so upset by all this that I started tearing up as the lab tech was taking my blood. She noticed I was upset, which somehow made it worse, and I ended up flat out bawling. She saw how upset I was, and said that I could call the clinic to see if they would provide a new requisition that was marked “urgent”, in which case the results would be ready in three hours.

I considered this, but decided that at this point I needed the path of least resistance, and so would just wait until tomorrow for my results (especially as I didn’t think I would be able to get two words out to the clinic without crying). However, the lab tech somehow convinced me to call, promising that the receptionist at the clinic would be able to help me, and I wouldn’t have to drag myself in to see the Dr. again.

I called the clinic, and ended up speaking to the Dr. who informed me that they do not do “urgent” requests for pregnancy blood test results unless it’s a suspected ectopic as it would unnecessarily tie up resources. I told him fair enough, but the reason I was requesting it was because I was used to same day results in my old province and that the lab tech had suggested I request an “urgent” rating in order to get that. The Dr. finally relented and said that while he couldn’t code my requisition “urgent”, he could do an “ASAP”, in which case results may be ready earlier.

I then asked if he would send the hard copy results to my RE for his file, and the Dr. here said he wouldn’t (again, something about wasting resources). I was flabbergasted, but stayed calm and explained that my RE would require written confirmation of the test results over and above my verbal confirmation that the cycle was negative, and how would I go about making sure he got that confirmation?

The answer to this was that I would have to go back into the clinic on Saturday to get a copy of my results, which I could then fax to my Dr. myself. Again, this was incredibly frustrating. Not only would this be another painful step for me, and take up my time, it also meant that other patients with legitimate medical concerns would have to wait while the clinic served me again.

The Dr. ended up speaking to the lab tech directly, and when she hung up, she assured me I would have results that day. I was not convinced, but called the clinic just before they closed and got my confirmation. I dragged myself back to the clinic on Saturday, asked reception for a copy of my test results, was told they weren’t signed off by a Dr. yet, so I would have to see a Dr. before I got them. I then waited half an hour in the overflowing waiting room to see a Dr. for one minute so he could sign off on the results and give me a copy. I then went to a Grand and Toy down the street and faxed the results to my clinic.

Finally, over 24 hours after first going to the lab for bloodwork, my fertility clinic had the results.

Leave a Reply

