The Never-Ending Cycle

Tuesday June 28th was supposed to be the big day when I went for bloodwork to find out if the IVF was successful. Of course, I would have done a home pregnancy test (or several) beforehand out of curiosity, and to have a heads up on the news, but regardless, the 28th was the official date. However, since we didn’t end up transferring any embryos due to OHSS, instead of finding out whether things were successful or not, I went in to the clinic for a day 2 ultrasound and bloodwork to see if we could go ahead with the frozen embryo transfer in July.

Originally, I’d thought it would be a no brainer to do the transfer in July, but when I spoke to one of the nurses after getting my period, she scared me by saying that we had to make sure my ovaries were back to a normal size before going ahead, and if they weren’t we might have to wait out a cycle and transfer next month! This totally freaked me out, because I’m moving across the country at the end of this month, and if we don’t transfer in July, I would have to wait until September at the earliest since I wouldn’t be able to take time off work from my new job in August to fly back here for a transfer.

Thankfully, the ultrasound went well, and my ovaries had gone right back down to whatever a normal size should be. However, my bloodwork still had to check out okay before we could proceed. I anxiously awaited the call from the fertility clinic, and finally got the news that my bloodwork was “good”, but I had to come back in for more bloodwork again the following day since my estrogen levels were still too high! I tried to tell myself that at this point we were just looking at a delay of a few days, rather than a few months, but the following day I was once again nervous and anxious about what the news would be. Thankfully, my hormone levels were finally acceptable, and I could start taking the estrace (to increase my estrogen levels?!)  in preparation for my transfer later this month.

For anyone who’s keeping track, I kicked off this IVF cycle with my first birth control pill on March 29th. It is now 3 months later, and while a lot has happened, I have yet to experience even the possibility of being pregnant. I suppose that technically the IVF cycle is over now, and July will be a new cycle, but to me it won’t be over until I do the transfer.

Things will be pretty quiet for the next little while as I’ll just be taking my estrace until I go in for an ultrasound and bloodwork on July 13th. If all goes well (as I think it should – the main purpose of the ultrasound will be a lining check, and my lining is always stellar), then my transfer should be around July 18th. Hopefully it will be worth the wait, but in any case I will be happy to finally have closure on this cycle one way or another!

3 thoughts on “The Never-Ending Cycle

  1. It’s amazing how long this process can be- and even longer in your case! I hope with all my heart your patience is rewarded with a BFP soon- and that you can get your transfer in before you move. Cheering for you!

    • I know Jess – it’s dragged on and on, but I’m happy that I will finally have resolution one way or another by the end of the month! I am feeling pretty positive about everything, so hopefully that’s a good sign that a BFP is right aroud the corner.

Leave a Reply

